The University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) started in 1961 as a College of the University of London. In 1963 it became a Constituent College of the University of East Africa. It is situated in the Western side of the city of Dar es Salaam, occupying 1,625 acres on the observation hill, 13 kilometers from the city centre. It was formerly established in August 1970, as a National University, through the University of Dar es Salaam Act number 12 of 1970. It was established with three main objectives, namely: to transmit knowledge as a basis of action, from one generation to another; to act as a centre for advancing frontiers of knowledge through scientific research; and to meet the high-level human resource needs of the Tanzanian society. 

The University of Dar es Salaam is the oldest public university in Tanzania with a unique community of students and staff who are dedicated in bringing out the best in all its members. The aim is to provide the best possible environment for teaching, learning research and public services, and our track record of success is well known in East Africa, Africa and the rest of the world. The University is led by the Vision “To become a leading Centre of Intellectual Wealth spearheading the Quest for Sustainable and Inclusive Development” and its Mission is, “The University of Dar es Salaam will advance the economic, social and technological development of Tanzania and beyond through excellent teaching and learning, research and knowledge exchange”.

The University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) offers bachelor, master and doctoral degrees and professional development programmes leading to the award of certificates and diplomas. The University comprises the Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere Mlimani Campus, which is the Main Campus located 13 kilometers West of the Dar es Salaam City Centre and consists of various academic and non-academic units including the College of Agricultural Sciences and Fisheries Technology (CoAF), College of Humanities (CoHU), College of Information and Communication Technologies (CoICT), College of Engineering and Technology (CoET), College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CoNAS), and College of Social Sciences (CoSS). Others are the University of Dar es Salaam School of Education (SoEd), School of Journalism and Mass Communication (SJMC), University of Dar es Salaam School of Law (UDSoL), University of Dar es Salaam Business School (UDBS), School of Mines and Geosciences (SoMG), School of Aquatic Sciences and Fisheris Technology (SoAF), University of Dar es Salaam School of Economic (SoEC), University of Dar es Salaam Wilbert Chegula Library, Institute of Kiswahili Studies (IKS), Institute of Resource Assessment (IRA), Institute of Development Studies (IDS), Confucius Institute at the University of Dar es Salaam (CI-UDSM), Centre for Virtual Learning (CVL), Centre for Population Studies and Research (CPSR), Centre for Climate Change Studies (CCCS), Centre for Forced Migration Studies (CFMS), Centre for Educational Research and Professional Development (CERPD) and Centre for Communication Studies (CCS).

Other units at the Main Campus include the Quality Assurance Bureau (QAB), University of Dar es Salaam Innovation and Entrepreneurship Centre (UDIEC), University Computing Center (UCC), Dar es Salaam University Press (DUP), University Consultancy Bureau (UCB), Gender Centre (GC), Technology Development and Transfer Centre (TDTC), Bureau for Industrial Cooperation (BICO) and University Students Accommodation Bureau (USAB). Other campuses are the Dar es Salaam University College of Education (DUCE) in Dar es Salaam, Mkwawa University College of Education (MUCE) in Iringa, Mbeya College of Health and Allied Sciences (MCHAS) in Mbeya, Institute of Marine Sciences (IMS) in Zanzibar, and the University of Dar es Salaam – Mineral Resource Institute (UDSM-MRI) which has two campuses: Dodoma and Nzega.

Apart from delivering professional advice to public and private institutions, UDSM has continued to offer awareness building services to the Tanzanian public on issues ranging from research, innovation and industrial development to environmental conservation and application of new technologies. We continue to ensure that students, staff and other people’s stay at the University is filled with excitement and experiences that one can treasure for a lifetime. We also recognize that the quality of student experiences derives from more than academic study. That is why the University encourages students to join and actively participate in activities of the Students Union and use the various sports and recreational facilities available, e.g. swimming pool, cricket, athletics and soccer fields. The University of Dar es Salaam is also at the interface of national and international higher education innovations and initiatives.